The Painting with the smudge

I remember her detail,

How she looked, how she talked to her husband,
I just stood on the pavement and cried, I’ll

Never see her again, not here,
That’s it.

Whatever came, came for a moment and then left, we were
Going to live forever.

I don’t get in touch with anyone anymore,
It scares me, the

Vast leap of events between the last meeting twenty years ago, and the ‘hello’ now,
Like a slug or snail whose antenne has grazed something unpalatable;

I’ve withdrawn.

I don’t mean to do it I don’t mean to have this strange mist shroud me, I
Feel tenuous –

Like a smudge in the corner of a pristine painting you could reach out to touch me and find,

Nothing there left at all.

Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep. Rom. 12:15

♦Photo – Personal♦

-short evocative poetry-

Published in: on April 9, 2017 at 10:59  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shortpoetry.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/short-poetry-words-move-family-cancer-death-coping-the-painting-with-the-smudge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Comment below! Thanks!

