I grow old

Look cherry,
I can do it too!
Grow without trying!

I still wear make-up,
Iron my hair,
Go dancing,
Fall drunk,

I still give up,
Play dead,
Act cherry,
Cherry bright,

I still dream,
Laugh,
Scratch at my wounds,
Pretend,

I still wish I could be free,
And rich,
And well thought of,

I feel,
Even though I fell last week
And was not picked,

That I could be the one to turn it all around.

I pant though.
And gasp.
And wheeze.

I take Tylenol in the morning and complain,
Pay the bills just in time,

I cry,
And give up
And pretend,

I grow old.

Published in: on September 10, 2015 at 11:47  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shortpoetry.wordpress.com/2015/09/10/i-grow-old/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Comment below! Thanks!

